Ullyett and Miller are 2016 BPMSI Bike and Car Champions

Ullyett and Miller are 2016 BPMSI Bike and Car Champions

 Geoff Ullyett and Brook Miller are Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc's (BPMSI) 2016 Champion Driver and Champion Rider respectively, following the end of the Club's second season at the Williams Digicel International Race Meet earlier this month. While the Suzuki Challenge Series will not reach its Summer Season finale until October 30, more than 100 competitors have already scored points in BPMSI-run Championships.

  Ullyett won Group 1/Class 1 on all but one occasion in his Nissan 150Y, giving him a near-perfect score of 218 points (of 225 available) in one of the season's best-subscribed classes. Gp1/C2 winner Adrian Bailey (Peugeot 205) finishes second overall, with 156 points, while Darren Lashley, who finished second in Gp1/C1 in another 205, finishes third with 141.

  Miller rode his Suzuki GSX-R600 to victory in Bikes Class A in five of the nine races run. Despite a tumble in the second race at the International, which left him on the sidelines for the rest of the day, he had done enough earlier in the season to edge out Reigning Champion Kris Brathwaite (Yamaha R6) by just four points. Terrance Ollivierre (Suzuki GSX-R600) is third, another 29 points adrift. The Bikes Class B title fight was even closer - with 124 points, Ronnie Cooke (Kawasaki ZX6-R) beat Lowrey Worrell (Suzuki GSX-R600) by three points, with Stephon Holder third on his Triumph Daytona. Holder and Ollivierre were respectively the highest points-scorers at the International, while Ollivierre has also won the Hilti Handicap Championship for Bikes.

  At the International, competitors in Williams Equipment Group 3, Group 4 and the Monster Energy Bike classes scored points within the Seaboard Marine CMRC races, while Percy King Auto Parts Group 1 and Crane & Equipment Group 2 combined to form the biggest grids of the day . . . and some thrilling action ensued.

  The first race of the day was red-flagged shortly after the start, as Mark Thompson (Toyota Starlet) stalled and could not move off before the field completed the opening lap; all went smoothly at the restart. Tremaine Forde-Catwell (Daihatsu Charmant) led throughout, also winning Gp2/C1, with Andre Forde (Starlet) claiming Gp2/C2 honours, ahead of some lively action in the Group 1 classes.

  Racing at Bushy Park for the first time this year, Reigning Champion Driver Jermin Pope (Honda Civic) was back on the pace, finishing third overall and winning Gp1/C2 from Bailey and Devan McCartney (Honda CRX). In Gp1/C1, seventh overall gave Ullyett his first win of the day, heading home Andre Walcott (Suzuki Swift) and Lashley.

  The day's second race was fought out on a streaming wet track, a number of seasoned campaigners among those caught out by the conditions. McCartney and Bailey were the class of the field, finishing seven-tenths apart, first and second in Gp1/C2, with a hugely impressive drive from Trinidad & Tobago's Bridget Singh (Civic) netting a well-deserved third place overall and in class. Ullyett's only defeat of the year came at the hands of Shawn Boxill: the rear-engined rwd Hillman Imp proved ideal for the conditions, Boxill powering from 24th on the grid to sixth overall, with Ullyett and Walcott completing the class podium. In Group 2, only Forde and Windell Holmes (Acura Integra) finished.

  With the track dry once again, race three was dominated by Forde-Catwell, once Forde had retired. TF-C took the chequered flag 17secs clear of the field, for his second Gp2/C1 win of the day - he had aquaplaned off into the W's gravel trap in race two - with Holmes second and winner of Gp2/C2. Behind them, the Group 1 classes produced a rich vein of competition, Singh showing her talents again, this time winning Gp1/C2, ahead of Bailey and Pope. Ullyett was back in control of Gp1/C1, finishing sixth overall, with Walcott second and Nathaniel Munroe (Mini) third.

  BPMSI's final date of the 2016 season is Sunday, October 30, when the club will join forces with the Barbados Karting Association (BKA) and the Barbados Association of Dragsters & Drifters (BADD) at Bushy Park Barbados for an all-day programme of motor sport action running from day into night.


Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc - 2016 Championship Final points:

Percy King Auto Parts Group 1/Class 1: 1st Geoffrey Ullyett (Ullyett's Machine Shop Service/Goodyear/Banks Nissan 150Y), 218 points; 2nd Darren Lashley (SRG Engineering/Full Line Racing Parts/C A Autobody Repairs/KK Auto Repairs/Williams Equipment Peugeot 205XS), 141pts; 3rd Andre Walcott (Courts iFinance/Courts Optical/M-Grafix Suzuki Swift), 102pts; etc
Gp1/C2: 1st Adrian Bailey (Ellco Rentals/SRG Engineering/Lucid Consulting/Dove's Exhaust Repairs/M Y Bhana Everything Store/Bliss Water Sports/Tropicana Jewellers Peugeot 205), 156pts; 2nd Devan McCartney (C & A Autobody Repair/Zephirins Bakery/RJ's Recovery Honda CRX), 91pts; 3rd Quincy Jones (Toyota Starlet), 75pts; etc

Crane & Equipment Gp2/C1: 1st Tremaine Forde-Catwell (CCT Paints/Cheese Auto Glass Finishes/Rezults Auto Daihatsu Charmant), 111pts; 2nd Ripley Greene (Huntes Auto Spares/Hilti/Full Line Racing Parts Toyota Corolla), 24pts
Gp2/C2: 1st Andre Forde (Forde's Vending Machines/Percy King Auto Parts Toyota Starlet), 66pts; 2nd Windell Holmes (Full Line Racing Parts/Hilti/Turk Lashley's Garage Acura Integra), 39pts; 3rd Andre Corbin (Toyota Corolla SR), 15pts Gp2/C3: equal 1st Geoffrey Ullyett (Ullyett's Machine Shop BMW M3) & Mark Kinch (Jolly Roger/Boom Energy Drink/Pirate's Cove/Cran Plus Water BMW M3), 36pts

Williams Equipment Gp3/C2: 1st Kenrick Husbands (Williams Equipment/MP/Big Gas/Hilti Toyota Starlet), 120pts; 2nd Mark Thompson (Stag Beer/Automotive Art/Rock Hard Cement/Glassesco/NKM Clothing/Bio-Beauty/Versatile Construction/Slam 101.1FM/Y103.3FM Honda Civic), 68pts; 3rd Jason Harewood (Mark's Auto Spares/Gaskins Garage/Castrol/JVM Signage/SDRR/Image Vault Toyota Starlet), 48pts; etc
Gp3/C3: 1st Shawn Eversley (L&N Workshop/SE Performance Suzuki Swift), 42pts; 2nd Kurt Thompson (Glassesco/NKM Clothing/Bio-Beauty/Digicel 4G/Beacon Insurance/RA Mapp/Versatile Construction/Slam 101.1FM/Y103.3FM Honda CRX), 36pts; 3rd Steve King (Automotive Art/Valvoline/Percy King Auto Parts Toyota Starlet), 25pts; etc

Gp4/2wd: 1st Mark Maloney (Digicel/Maloney Racing Team Mazda RX-3), 103pts; 2nd Barry Mayers (Chefette/Digicel/Sol/DHL/Hankook/Illusion Graphics Suzuki SX4), 68pts; 3rd Sammy Cumberbatch (Williams Industries/Castrol/Hilti BMW M3), 54pts; etc

Hilti Handicap for Cars: 1st Stuart Maloney (Radical RS3 RS), 33pts; 2nd Shawn Boxill (Hillman Imp), 25pts; 3rd David Simpson (Radical RS3 RS), 18pts; etc

Monster Energy Bikes Class A: 1st Brook Miller (Evolite/Turbo/Biz Needz/ProSales Barbados/KORE Fitness/Kari Brook Live/Bridgestone/Pure Action/Chicken Hawk/Mancini Suzuki GSX-R600), 140pts; 2nd Kris Brathwaite (Evolite/Execsec Corporate Services Yamaha R6), 136pts; 3rd Terrance Ollivierre (Percy King Auto Parts/Kermitt's Bar/Demario's Cycle World Suzuki GSX-R600), 107pts; etc
Class B: 1st Ronnie Cooke (More For Less Tyres/Forever 4x4/Devil's Den Bike Track Yamaha R6), 124pts; 2nd Lowrey Worrell (Big Ren's Pizza Suzuki GSX-R600), 121pts; 3rd Stephon Holder (Crystal Bridges Inc Triumph Daytona), 90pts; etc

Hilti Handicap for Bikes:  1st Ollivierre 26pts; equal 2nd Mario Blackett (Honda CBR600) & Nicholas Gonzales - T&T (H & N/National Gas Company/Mondo Racing/Graphic Vibes Kawasaki ZX-6R), 25pts; etc