Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc celebrates its 2016 Champions

Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc celebrates its 2016 Champions

 Members of Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc (BPMSI) gathered in the Cafeteria at Bushy Park Barbados last evening (Saturday) to celebrate the Club's 2016 Champions. Champion Driver and Champion Rider respectively, Geoff Ullyett and Brook Miller, emerged victorious from the nearly 90 competitors on two and four wheels who scored points in BPMSI-administered Championships, many of whom headed to St Philip to join in the celebrations.

  Ullyett won Group 1/Class 1 on all but one occasion in his Nissan 150Y, giving him a near-perfect score of 218 points (of 225 available) in one of the season's best-subscribed classes. Gp1/C2 winner Adrian Bailey (Peugeot 205) finished second in the overall title chase, with 156 points, while Darren Lashley, second in Gp1/C1 in another 205, ended the season third with 141. Tremaine Forde-Catwell won the Hilti Handicap Championship for Cars, in addition to Gp2/C1.

  Miller rode his Suzuki GSX-R600 to victory in Bikes Class A in five of the nine races run, edging out Reigning Champion Kris Brathwaite (Yamaha R6) by just four points, with Terrance Ollivierre (Suzuki GSX-R600) third. Bikes Class B was also hard-fought, Ronnie Cooke (Kawasaki ZX6-R) beating Lowrey Worrell (Suzuki GSX-R600) by six points, with Stephon Holder third on his Triumph Daytona. Ollivierre won the Hilti Handicap Championship for Bikes.

  In a short but upbeat speech, BPMSI Chairman Sean Maloney said: "I think that 2016 has allowed for us to better understand what our members expect from the committee. Alongside that, the members have also learned to respect that much of what they want from us hinges on their involvement in the marketing both pre- and post-event. We will continue to make it the Club's business to facilitate a safe and fun environment for our members, who will then do whatever is within their power to participate."

  In addition to the competitor awards, a number of other contributions were acknowledged, including that of Adrian Linton, who has been the BPMSI's most regular Clerk of the Course. Maloney added: "We are recognising Adrian with a special award to thank him for the time he has contributed to making our events successful. He is not a member of our committee, but has been a solid part of our race organisation team."

  While the 2017 BPMSI Championship is not scheduled to kick off until the end of February, the Club will organise the Radical Carnival at the end of this month (January 28/29), which will bring the second Suzuki Challenge Series to a conclusion with the Winter Cup. Suzuki Challenge Summer Series Champions Suleman Esuf (SR3 Cup) and Ryan Wood (Swift Cup) received their trophies at yesterday's BPMSI function.

Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc - 2016 Prizegiving List of Award Winners

Champion Driver: Geoffrey Ullyett (Ullyett's Machine Shop Service/Goodyear/Banks Nissan 150Y)
Percy King Auto Parts Group 1/Class 1 - Champion: Ullyett, 218 points; 2nd Darren Lashley (SRG Engineering/Full Line Racing Parts/C A Autobody Repairs/KK Auto Repairs/Williams Equipment Peugeot 205XS), 141pts; 3rd Andre Walcott (Courts iFinance/Courts Optical/M-Grafix Suzuki Swift), 102pts
Gp1/C2 - Champion: Adrian Bailey (Ellco Rentals/SRG Engineering/Lucid Consulting/Dove's Exhaust Repairs/M Y Bhana Everything Store/Bliss Water Sports/Tropicana Jewellers Peugeot 205), 156pts; 2nd Devan McCartney (C & A Autobody Repair/Zephirins Bakery/RJ's Recovery Honda CRX), 91pts; 3rd Quincy Jones (Toyota Starlet), 75pts
Crane & Equipment Gp2/C1 - Champion: Tremaine Forde-Catwell (CCT Paints/Cheese Auto Glass Finishes/Rezults Auto Daihatsu Charmant), 111pts; 2nd Ripley Greene (Huntes Auto Spares/Hilti/Full Line Racing Parts Toyota Corolla), 24pts
Gp2/C2 - Champion: Andre Forde (Forde's Vending Machines/Percy King Auto Parts Toyota Starlet), 66pts; 2nd Windell Holmes (Full Line Racing Parts/Hilti/Turk Lashley's Garage Acura Integra), 39pts; 3rd Andre Corbin (Toyota Corolla SR), 15pts
Gp2/C3 - Joint Champions: Geoffrey Ullyett (Ullyett's Machine Shop BMW M3) & Mark Kinch (Jolly Roger/Boom Energy Drink/Pirate's Cove/Cran Plus Water BMW M3), 36pts
Williams Equipment Gp3/C2 - Champion: Kenrick Husbands (Williams Equipment/MP/Big Gas/Hilti Toyota Starlet), 120pts; 2nd Mark Thompson (Stag Beer/Automotive Art/Rock Hard Cement/Glassesco/NKM Clothing/Bio-Beauty/Versatile Construction/Slam 101.1FM/Y103.3FM Honda Civic), 68pts; 3rd Jason Harewood (Mark's Auto Spares/Gaskins Garage/Castrol/JVM Signage/SDRR/Image Vault Toyota Starlet), 48pts
Gp3/C3 - Champion: Shawn Eversley (L&N Workshop/SE Performance Suzuki Swift), 42pts; 2nd Kurt Thompson (Glassesco/NKM Clothing/Bio-Beauty/Digicel 4G/Beacon Insurance/RA Mapp/Versatile Construction/Slam 101.1FM/Y103.3FM Honda CRX), 36pts; 3rd Steve King (Automotive Art/Valvoline/Percy King Auto Parts Toyota Starlet), 25pts
Gp4/2wd - Champion: Mark Maloney (Digicel/Maloney Racing Team Mazda RX-3), 103pts; 2nd Barry Mayers (Chefette/Digicel/Sol/DHL/Hankook/Illusion Graphics Suzuki SX4), 68pts; 3rd Sammy Cumberbatch (Williams Industries/Castrol/Hilti BMW M3), 54pts
Hilti Handicap for Cars - Champion: Tremaine Forde-Catwell, 56pts; 2nd Stuart Maloney (Radical RS3 RS), 43pts; 3rd Andre Walcott, 34pts

Suzuki Challenge Summer Series, Swift Cup - Champion: Ryan Wood (Team Digicel), 254pts; 2nd Jason Parkinson (Team Infra Rentals/Sol), 221pts; 3rd Josh Read (Team Massy United Insurance), 199pts
SR3 Cup - Champion: Suleman Esuf, 173pts; 2nd Stuart Maloney, 143pts; 3rd David Simpson, 129pts

Champion Rider: Brook Miller (Evolite/Turbo/Biz Needz/ProSales Barbados/KORE Fitness/Kari Brook Live/Bridgestone/Pure Action/Chicken Hawk/Mancini Suzuki GSX-R600)
Monster Energy Bikes Class A - Champion: Miller, 140pts; 2nd Kris Brathwaite (Evolite/Execsec Corporate Services Yamaha R6), 136pts; 3rd Terrance Ollivierre (Percy King Auto Parts/Kermitt's Bar/Demario's Cycle World Suzuki GSX-R600), 107pts
Class B - Champion: Ronnie Cooke (More For Less Tyres/Forever 4x4/Devil's Den Bike Track Yamaha R6), 127pts; 2nd Lowrey Worrell (Big Ren's Pizza Suzuki GSX-R600), 121pts; 3rd Stephon Holder (Crystal Bridges Inc Triumph Daytona), 87pts Hilti Handicap for Bikes - Champion: Ollivierre, 26pts; 2nd Mario Blackett (Honda CBR600), 25pts