Williams and Digicel sponsorship confirmed at BPMSI Awards

Williams and Digicel sponsorship confirmed at BPMSI Awards

When members of Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc (BPMSI) gathered in the Cafeteria at Bushy Park Barbados on Sunday (February 24) to salute the Club’s 2018 Champion Driver Devan McCartney and Champion Rider Kevin Bynoe, a surprise announcement provided further cause for celebration. Williams Industries and Digicel Barbados once again affirmed their support for the Club’s annual International Race Meet, this year scheduled for August 31/September 1.

  Williams has been title sponsor of an annual regional or international race meeting at the St Philip facility since 2004, while Digicel’s involvement began in 2010; details of the deal are yet to be finalised, but this year’s early commitment to the BPMSI’s showpiece event will enable the Club to confidently put plans in place for an enhanced offering to patrons. Club Chairman Sean Maloney says: “This confirmation from two long-term sponsors means we can work on the components of our big weekend well ahead of time, so I would like to thank both Williams and Digicel for coming to the table. I hope that we can create a product that justifies their support.”

  After former bike racer McCartney (Honda CRX) started the 2017 season with a hat-trick of class wins, things went rapidly downhill, so winning the 2018 is just reward, particularly as it comes in Group 1/Class 2, BPMSI’s most popular and competitive category. Six class wins, two seconds and a fourth place amassed a total of 198 points, with newcomer Verdon Inniss (Toyota Starlet) finishing second, not only in Gp1/C2, but also in the Champion Driver standings, with 132 points.

  Having finished second in Gp1/C1 for the past two seasons, Darren Lashley moved up to Gp2/C2 for 2018 in the Honda Integra formerly campaigned by Windell Holmes, and with good results; the only driver to score in all three rounds, Lashley’s total of 117 gave him the class win, also third overall.

  Junior Benskin (Nissan NX Coupe) claimed the Gp2/C1 title, his total of 114 points placing him fourth overall. The other class winners were outgoing Champion Driver Andre Walcott (Gp1/C1 Suzuki Swift) and Doug Maloney (Gp4 Audi A4 quattro), while Tyrone Martindale (Honda CRX) and Shawn Eversley (Suzuki Swift) tied for the Gp3/C3 crown. Martindale also won the Hilti Handicap Championship for Cars.

  There were only two rounds of the Superstock Championship, Bynoe (Suzuki GSX-R600) the only rider to score points in both March and September. On the second weekend, Bynoe finished second of the BPMSI runners in all three races to Terrance Ollivierre (Suzuki GSX-R600), who was returning to action after dislocating his shoulder in a tumble in March; with reduced points awarded for the last race as the class was under-subscribed, however, outgoing Champion Rider Ollivierre ended the day with 68 points, one shy of Bynoe’s total of 69.


Bushy Park Motor Sports Inc – 2018 Prizegiving

List of Awardees


Champion Driver: Devan McCartney (Zephirins Bakery/CA Autobody Repairs Honda CRX), 198 points; 2nd overall: Verdon Inniss (Rezult Auto Shop/C&C Trucking/Illusion Graphics Toyota Starlet), 132pts; 3rd overall: Darren Lashley (Hi-Speed Performance Parts/CA Autobody Repairs/Sky Drive Rentals/Turk Lashley Motorsport Honda Integra), 117pts

Champion Rider: Kevin Bynoe (Suzuki GSX-R600), 69 points; 2nd: Terrance Ollivierre (Kermits Bar/Xhosa Barbados/Demario’s Cycle World Suzuki GSX-R600), 68pts; 3rd: Barry Stuart (Honda CBR-R600), 42pts


BPMSI Championship Awards

Percy King Auto Parts Group 1/Class 1 – Champion: Andre Walcott (Williams Industries/M-Grafix/CA Autobody Repairs/SE Performance Suzuki Swift), 73 points; 2nd Nathaniel Munroe (Lubriguard/Carter’s Pit Stop/IDS Defence System/Sea Shell Car Rentals/Metamorfit/Transform Mini), 48pts; 3rd William Jones (H & B Hardware & Lumber Inc Datsun B310), 36pts Gp1/C2 - Champion: McCartney, 198pts; 2nd Inniss, 132pts; 3rd Ross Callender (CA Autobody Repairs/Percy King Auto Parts/Cheese AutoGlass Finish/Britos/Crane & Equipment/Indulge with Anna/Ullyetts Machine Shop Daihatsu Charmant), 79pts

Crane & Equipment Gp2/C1 - Champion: Junior Benskin (JB Pickling & Painting Services/Benskin Auto Electrical & Mechanical Repairs/Martindale Workshop Nissan NX Coupe), 114pts; 2nd Ripley Greene (Huntes Auto Spares/Hilti Toyota Corolla), 42pts; 3rd Patrick Weekes (Advanced Automotive Services Nissan), 39pts Gp2/C2 - Champion: Lashley, 117pts; 2nd Mark Thompson (Glassesco/NKM Clothing/Bio Beauty/Slam 101.1FM/Automotive Art/Berger Paint/King Ocean Honda Civic), 45pts; 3rd Tyrone Martindale (Precision Electricals/JB Pickling & Painting Services/Martindale Workshop Honda CRX), 35pts

Glassesco Gp3/C3 – Joint Champions: Shawn Eversley (SE Performance/Structural Systems Suzuki Swift) and Tyrone Martindale (Precision Electricals/JB Pickling & Painting Services/Martindale Workshop Honda CRX), 54pts; 3rd Tremaine Forde-Catwell (Hilti/Rezult Auto/Mark’s Auto Spares/CCT Paint/Cheese Autoglass Finish Daihatsu Charmant), 48pts

SeeSash Gp4 - Champion: Doug Maloney (Maloney Racing Team Audi A4 quattro), 39pts; 2nd Mark Maloney (Rock Hard Cement/Sign Station/CA Autobody Repairs Mazda RX-3), 33pts; 3rd Steve King (Percy King Auto Parts/Valvoline/Automotive Art Nissan Skyline), 15pts

Hilti Handicap for Cars - Champion: Martindale, 43pts; 2nd Eversley, 25pts; 3rd Lashley, 21pts