Double-Header climax for Rally Club Championship

Double-Header climax for Rally Club Championship

The Barbados Rally Club’s (BRC) shortened 2021 Driver’s and Class Championships will conclude with a Double-Header Sprint at Bushy Park on Saturday, November 20. After the postponement of Sol Rally Barbados and King of the Hill and the replacement of the earlier Double-Header closed-road sprint by a single points-scoring RallySprint in July, the championship will be decided over five rounds.

  Conforming to prevailing Covid-19 protocols, no spectators will be permitted at the event, nor will drivers be allowed to carry co-drivers or passengers, while support personnel numbers will also be kept to a minimum. Competitors will need to arrive no later than 11.00am for Scrutineering in the Bushy Park Pits and, while there will be no pace noting session, competitors will be given a brief opportunity to walk the course in advance of the start.

  The first part of the Double-Header, round four of the BRC Championship, is scheduled to start at noon; there will be four runs, without a practice, and the fastest time will count. The final round of the Championship is slated for a 3.30pm start, with four runs in the reverse direction, with some minor changes to the route; again, the fastest time will count. The Club expects the event to finish by around 6.00pm.

  Entries opened at Motorsport Services in Haggatt Hall on Monday (November 8) and will close 3.00pm next Wednesday (November 17), with a provision for late-fee entries until noon on Thursday, after which the running order will be published.

  Ahead of the event, BRC Assistant Competition Secretary Jamal Brathwaite said: “While we are eagerly awaiting the return of open-road events when the situation becomes more normal, we look forward to this final event for the year. As expected, all Covid-19 protocols will be in place and we have asked all participants to respect the usual social distancing and mask wearing protocols.”

  In his Rookie season in the Championship, Chris Hoad (BimmaCup) currently leads the Champion Driver title chase after three wins in Clubman 2. Having shared the overall lead with Stuart Maloney (Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) and Josh Read (Toyota Starlet) after the Double-Header Sprint at Bushy Park in June, he moved ahead of them by two and four points respectively after the RallySprint at the Vaucluse Raceway in July, with Adam Mallalieu (Ford Fiesta R5) now tied for third place with Read.

  Read also leads the 2wd Championship from Andrew Jones (Ford Escort MkII) with Reigning Champion Driver Neil Corbin (Starlet) third, also fifth in the overall title chase. Dane Skeete (Subaru Impreza WRC S12) leads the 4wd standings by two points from Jamaica’s Jeff Panton (Ford Fiesta WRC), with Maloney third and Mallalieu fourth.


BRC Class Championship

Positions after round 3


WRC: 1st Dane Skeete (Sol/CO Williams Sand & Lime/Automotive Art Subaru Impreza WRC S12), 37 points; 2ndJeffrey Panton – JAM (Sandals Resorts/Rubis/Bushy Park Barbados KIG Ford Fiesta WRC), 35pts

FIA R5: 1st Stuart Maloney (Rock Hard Cement/Bushy Park Barbados/VP Fuels/Chevron/Maloney Racing Skoda Fabia Rally2 Evo), 43pts; 2nd Adam Mallalieu (Terra Caribbean Ford Fiesta R5), 41pts; equal 3rd Roger Hill (Esso/MaxMeyer Paints/MotorMac Skoda Fabia R5) & Andrew Mallalieu (Terra Caribbean Ford Fiesta R5), 30pts; etc

SuperModified 2: 1st Josh Read (Weetabix Toyota Starlet), 41pts; 2nd Andrew Jones (Gale’s Agro/A P Jones Pharmacy/Southern Surf Beach Apartments Ford Escort MkII), 35pts; 3rd Barry Mayers (Chefette/Rubis/Quality Tyre/Sign Depot Ford Fiesta), 26pts; etc

SM1: 1st Neil Corbin (Nassco/Jason Jones/Auto Solutions/Emtage Electric/Pressout Performance Toyota Starlet), 39pts; 2nd Tremaine Forde-Catwell (Cheese Autoglass/MIPA Autocolor Daihatsu Charmant), 33pts

Modified 2: 1st Jamal Brathwaite (Consumers Guarantee Insurance/Stylez Auto Spa/TEC Barbados/Caribbean Auto Glass Honda Civic Type-R), 22pts

M1: 1st Geoffrey Noel (Toyota Corolla), 11pts

Historic 2: 1st Harold Morley - ENG (Spectrum Antimicrobials Porsche 911), 11pts

Clubman 3: 1st Stuart Garcia (Guava Tech/Smith’s Engineering Works/Kirba Inc BimmaCup Too), 33pts

C2: 1st Chris Hoad (Subway/Dasani Water/Guava Tech BimmaCup), 45pts; 2nd Wayne Archer (BimmaCup), 32pts; equal 3rd Jason Downey (BimmaCup), Harold Morley - ENG (Spectrum Antimicrobials BimmaCup) & Natya Soodeen (BimmaCup), 26pts; etc

C1: 1st Jason Tull (Jay-T’s Auto Services/SRG Engineering/SP Imports/Redline Performance Imports/BG Prod/CA Autobody Repairs Peugeot 106 Rallye S2), 33pts; 2nd Neil Barnard (Suzuki Swift Sport), 26pts


BRC 4wd Championship: 1st D Skeete, 41pts; 2nd Panton – JAM, 39pts; 3rd Maloney, 36pts; 4th Adam Mallalieu, 31pts; equal 5th Hill & Andrew Mallalieu, 24pts; 7th Paul Horton - TCI (FIA R5 Java Island/HO2 Construction/Sky Motorsport Ford Fiesta R5), 21pts; 8th Stan Hartling - TCI (FIA R5 Bambarra Rum Ford Fiesta R5), 17pts; 9th Suleman Esuf (FIA R5 Ford Fiesta R5), 9pts

BRC 2wd Championship: 1st Read, 43pts; 2nd Jones, 37pts; 3rd N Corbin, 31pts; 4th B Mayers, 26pts; 5th Hoad, 19pts; 6th Brathwaite, 18pts; equal 7th Suleman Esuf (SM2 BMW 1M) & Garcia, 17pts; 9th Forde-Catwell, 15pts; 10th Archer, 12pts; etc


For media information only. No regulatory value.


For further media information,

Web site: